Best Laid Plans

It seems the more you prepare for something, the even moreso it will fall through.
Some background information:

We are in the process of adopting a very adorable dog from a rescue organization. We actually have been in the process for a month now, and normally I don’t deal with rescues for that exact point alone. To be honest, if it were up to me I would have just gone to a kill shelter, rescued one of those (equally needing of a home) dogs and called it a day. At least I wouldn’t have to wait on pins and needles to bring a pet home. Sorry, I don’t like to wait, especially if I could save an animal the same day and free up space so they could accommodate another one from the streets. At least with a rescue organization I figure they would make arrangements where those animals are not at risk of being euthanized. So to make a long story short, we decided to adopt from the org, filled out the application and so forth, and met with the rescue org’s staff as well as the person who was fostering the dog last month. We seemed to get along fine, and had set upon a date when the rescue org was going to drop off the animal on a home visit just to make sure we’re prepared and such.

The visit didn’t happen, not surprising.

It always happens when you deal with more than one party. If one party is ready, the other one may not be and that puts such a wrench in the plans. Again, not too surprising. I really couldn’t be too angry because part of me prepared for that moment. I suppose all that really is, is to wait and give it another shot. Again, more or less it still depends on the other party. The conflict this time around isn’t a scheduling difficulty, it is more on the part of that one party and how they do not want to part from the dog. I can’t say I blame them. The dog seemed to be a sweetheart and I would be hard pressed to let them go too, however they knew the deal when they came into the position so not to sound too heartless, it was a moment that they should have prepared for as well.

I hope that this delay is giving that person the time they need to come to closure with him so that we can finally welcome him into our home.

Speak your mind!

