Baptism by Fire

As usual, it’s been a while since I’ve updated.
After leaving my last job I:

  • Moved
  • Got called for a new job!

To be honest, although I was excited to move, it was quite a hassle when it was all said and done. Like the old adage “when it rains it pours,” it certainly poured when I got that employment call. Years of nothing and then all of a sudden it all comes into play. If I thought I had time to relax and actually move in, fate had another plan for me.

The job seems to be fine, there are a lot of rules and such, but at least I can wear jeans. It’s not much of a compensation but I suppose it’s something.

It’s now been two weeks. Wow. The first week, you think it’s going to be hard. Then in the second week you get a little more comfortable and part of you feels like you can tackle it as it comes and then when the time comes, all you could do is freeze up and stutter like a fool. To me, it was baptism by fire. If you thought it was frustrating calling for services, imagine that person on the other end who has to go through a myriad of services to find the correct place to route you to. Afterwards I felt so drained and part of me just wanted to run screaming from the site going, “I can’t do this!”
I will admit, part of me thinks that I can’t do it. Part of me believes that with more practice, I can. Mostly I’m just tired. I just keep thinking about what my instructor told me, and her words really resonated. She said, “why stress over this? There are other things to stress over, and this is not one of them.” Then she went on to say that they can’t see you, you can’t see them, and at the end of the day they’re just a call. Some things to really keep in mind.

Speak your mind!

