Lights from Dyker Heights

I forgot that I had these on the computer still, but in the spirit of Christmas cheer, here they are!

I heard of this place in Brooklyn called Dyker Heights way back when but never really paid it any mind, as I never really was one that ventured into Brooklyn often so imagine my surprise when a friend of mine invited me to go take some pictures there. ‘Sure, why not,’ I thought. Until he told me that we would be going out at night (understandable, Xmas lights never look that great in the daytime anyway) and that it was going to be deathly cold. Note to self: always overdress when hanging out with Simon.

Dyker Heights is a beautiful neighborhood in Brooklyn that’s renowned for their Christmas decorations. Some houses I saw employed a company to lay out the decorations and some I would assume probably did it themselves. Most of the house lights were off though by the time we got out there (around 1AM so next time we aim to be there earlier) but the ones that stayed on were gorgeous.


I had used my 50mm lens and while I did not get to plant myself and just zoom into certain things to get a shot, I did enjoy the fact that I had to use my feet. It forces you to think a bit before you take a picture willy nilly. I just wish I had brought a more stable tripod (so… many blurry pictures).

Some things to remember for next year:

  • Layered clothing
  • Warmer gloves
  • Stable tripod
  • Boots
Speak your mind!

